IMG_6039

Fun fact: Neal was the football coach at Seaside High School where, Michael, as a student, played football. Both artists have spent much of their lives in Seaside and are sentimentally attached to the beach.

The backstories:

After a thirty-year career as an award-winning biology teacher at Seaside High School, Neal Maine became the first executive director of North Coast Land Conservancy, which he co-founded. Since his retirement from the land trust, he has pursued his passion for nature photography. He is dedicated to raising awareness of coastal ecology and the wildlife with “whom we share the region’s estuaries, freshwater wetlands and forests”. A percentage of all photography sales are donated to North Coast Land Conservancy to help further this goal.

“My artistic journey followed a few years of teaching, coaching, West Point Military Academy, and then 30 years in sales and marketing with a major car company. I loved my job, but I love retirement even more, especially the time it gives me with family, friends, travel, and of course oil painting
My art is an interpretation. At my age, as a proud grandpa, retired from a career which carried our family across the country a few times, as well as travels throughout Europe, I have appreciated, collected, and studied other artists and the way they interpret what they see.” –-Michael Muldoon.