Fall 2015, mother of pearl cuff

Fall 2015, mother of pearl cuff

Beaded cuff by Elaine Sawyer.

As fall approaches and days of bliss by the sea are shorter, artists are introducing new works.  From jewelry designer Elaine Sawyer unique one-of-a-kind cuffs that offer a tribute to the incoming season.

Fall 2015, mother of pearl cuff

Fall 2015, mother of pearl cuff

Discreet and chic beaded cuff by Elaine Sawyer.

About jeweler Elaine Sawyer.

“I was educated in the Art of Nursing, working as a registered nurse for 38 years. The fine arts were critical to me to decompress and express my creative side. I found I have a good sense of composition, design, color and texture that gives me energy as I create.

Making jewelry from stringing paled as I learned weaving patterns: peyote, Russian weave, right angled, and spiral using seed pearls. Then I discovered my true passion, pearl embroidery from a book by Sherry Serafini who does amazing work. I fell in love with the freedom to create totally original designs. I start with a natural stone Cabochon, hand blown glass, or even a vintage button to serve as the focal point. That inspires me to choose the seed pearls in various colors, shapes, and textures to complement the piece.

Each seed pearl is hand sewed onto a firm backing, anchored to a stable form and covered by ultra-suede. I have made pendants and cuff bracelets. I never duplicate a design and each piece takes many, many hours. My husband, Mike, does the lapidary work to cut and polish the stones into cabochons.” –Elaine

The jeweler’s mastery of pure design, harmonious colors, and timeless sophistication, Elaine Sawyer offers elegantly understated nature-inspired cuffs for the autumn season.

Comment received: “I am so happy you are featuring some of Elaine’s jewelry. She has an artistic eye for design and creativity. I love the jewelry I have from her.” — Connie Erickson