Forte

New work: “Forte” 20 x 30 in oil on deep cradled wood panel by Melissa Jander.

Q: What is the meaning of forte, you ask?
A: A thing that excels. Synonyms: strength, strong, special gift. The ocean, indeed, is a gift to us all.

 

Cresendo

New work: “Crescendo” 20 x 30 in oil on deep cradled wood panel by Melissa Jander.

Q: What is the meaning of crescendo, you ask?
A: The loudest point reached in a gradually increasing sound. Indeed, the ocean offers a progressive increase in force or intensity with each incoming wave.

We welcome Melissa Jander, previously a guest artist, as a resident artist in the Fairweather Gallery!  Her art is spot on, don’t you agree?

Please visit http://www.fairweatherhouseandgallery.com/artists/Melissa Jander for more information.

 

 

“Yesterday I was running around Seaside doing errands, fighting traffic and the heat. I stopped by the Fairweather Gallery to drop off a new item and was transported! Upon crossing the threshold of the shop I felt I had entered an island of tranquility. Suddenly coolness, gentle music, fresh fragrance filled the air and my eyes were calmed by the beauty of the fine creations of Fairweather’s artists. What a soothing experience for a harried day. Denise works her magic in ways that always bring joy.”Linda Ballard

5ec830b85fe8d65618471077623cf34c

From textile artist Linda Ballard. “Your bag for the journey.” 

Equine II backstory: 

“Every summer I make a solo journey back to the wilds of Montana. I have a yearning to visit the Bitterroots, then head north to visit old friends in Kalispell. Along the way I stop into favorite tack shops searching for tack to use in my bags. Tack inventory varies year to year and this year was a bounty! Loading up at my favorite shop in Lolo, Mt I then head south to Hamilton. Wandering into a new tack shop there I found a few items and was just about to leave when out of the corner of my eye I spotted a decorative halter piece buried in the mix.

I couldn’t believe the beautiful decoration. I carved metal bands and smaller metal decorations at connection points. Such a lucky find! Usually I wait until I get home to the Oregon coast take apart the tack but I couldn’t resist trying to figure out how to use these newly found lovely pieces. So up in the fire lookout where I was staying I painstakingly took apart the halter, discarding the old worn leather, cleaning up the pieces and thinking about how I’d assemble a new bag using the new found treasure. The assembly of Equine II required some engineering but it has all been worth it to get the lovely carved metal band affixed. This one of a kind bag will endure many a journey, beautifully.” –Linda

Q: What else is happening at the Seaside coast, you ask?
A:  ‘Tis Mother of all relays!

 

 

Just the facts:
DATES: August 26 – 27, 2016
TOTAL TEAMS: 1,050 teams of 12 runners
RACE COURSE: Hood To Coast is 198 miles long.
TOTAL PARTICIPANTS: The 2016 event will include 12,600 runners and 3,600 volunteers
ORIGIN: HTC began in 1982 with 8 teams and has filled the team cap on the opening day of registration for the last 18 years straight!

For more info to go: https://www.facebook.com/ Hood To Coast

http://www.hoodtocoastrelay.com/race-information

Seaside, the beach, the waves, the community,  the visitors, the runners and the walkers are creating memories that will last, always and forever.