renee-rowe

Renee Rowe, new Fairweather artist and former gallerist.

Artist Statement:
“Color, shape, pattern and texture interest and excite me. While growing up on the East coast I studied art at Rutgers University with Roy Lichtenstein, Reginald Marsh, George Segal and others, took graduate classes at the New School and painted at the N.Y.C. Art Students League, living on the West side of Manhattan.

I made Colorado my home. I painted with Kim English and Mark Daily. Influenced by the artists around me at the Denver Art Students League, I became interested in impressionistic painting and began doing figurative works and landscapes with an eye towards abstract composition. During many of those years I directed art galleries in the Denver area. Later I moved to Pueblo from Denver where I helped start an art cooperative, Art on South Main, now called Steel City Art.

Over time my love of art has gone through many phases: from studying the classical masters to playing with abstract expressionism, experimenting with “pop” art and impressionistic contemporary works. Some of the many great artists who have influenced me include Whistler, Schiele, Rothko, Pollock, Kahn, and Diebenkorn.

I have recently moved to Oregon where I where I am inspired by the beauty of nature all around me. I am promising myself to follow my heart by painting all I can. If what I produce also pleases others, it is an added gift .For me, celebrating art and life are inseparable.” —Renee Rowe

Please visit http://www.reneeroweart.com.

I love a quote attributed to Danny Kaye: “Life is a great big canvas. Throw all the paint you can on it.”–Renee

river-and-rocks

River and Rocks, an impasto oil, by Renee Rowe

 

Q: What is the meaning of an impasto painting, you ask?

A: Impasto is a technique used in painting, where paint is laid on an area of the surface very thickly, usually thick enough that the brush or painting-knife strokes are visible. Paint can also be mixed right on the canvas.

 

Take a note!!!

Renee Rowe will be in attendance to offer a painting Seaside LIVE ™ episode at the upcoming Seaside First Saturday Art Walk.

Fairweather House and Gallery

612 Broadway, Seaside, OR

DRAMA IN ART opening reception

Artists arriving: Jo Pomeroy-Crockett, Renee Rowe, Paul Brent, Jan Shield, Linda Fenton-Mendenhall, among others.

Save the date and time!!!

October 1st, 2016

5-7:pm

Please visit http://www.facebook.com/Seaside First Saturday for more information and images of previous Art Walks.

Please visit http://www.fairweatherhouseandgallery.com for more information about the gallery.

 

And, too, another question.

Q. How does the gallery select artists to exhibit?

A. Referrals arrive through word of mouth from other artists in the community !  “Those that live for the arts, support the arts.”

To read more about the support in the arts community read the following “doing good works”  back story:

“Hello dear friend:

Seems to me that fall is in the air and I, for one, am delighted. We have, at the Art Loft, a talented and delightful oil painter, Renee Rowe, whom I would like you to meet.

Renee spent 10 years in IT and worked with Fortune 500 companies. She missed her art and so, left the corporate world. She went on to manage high end galleries in Colorado and then started her own gallery. Needing a change, she traveled in Europe and South America, painting all the while. Recently, she relocated to Astoria and is one of our cherished resident artists.

Renee paints impressionistic landscapes, cityscapes, seascapes, people, AND abstract/non-objective paintings. I think her work might fit in well in the Fairweather Gallery. I have encouraged her to contact you.”Jo Pomeroy-Crockett

“Thank you. You will be the lead artist for the show and you will be introducing Renee as a new artist for the gallery. Thank you for your referral.  She is a lovely artist. I am very grateful that she chose the Fairweather Gallery to represent her art work.”—Denise

 

“Thank you so very much, m’dear. I am thrilled that you liked Renee’s paintings. She will be joyful. I am ready for an October 1st Art Walk at your lovely gallery.”Jo Pomeroy Crockett

Please visit http://www.fairweatherhouseandgallery.com/artists/ Jo Pomeroy-Crockett

Please visit http://www.Astoria Art Loft.com for more information.